This Guest Post Was Written By: Michelle White from arizdui.com
Getting arrested for driving under the influence is bad enough. In some states, however, a DUI arrest is so much worse. Generally, DUI laws are already strict, but the states listed below have even stricter DUI laws that essentially made them the worst states in which to be arrested for a DUI.
So which states should you do your darnedest best not to get arrested in for DUI?
The reputation of the state of Arizona as having one of the strictest DUI laws in the country is a well-deserved one. First-time DUI offenders have to spend a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail to a maximum of six months. They also have to pay a $250 base fine, but the figure can go up to $2,500 once other fines and fees are factored in. Arizona also has DUI classifications “Extreme DUI” and “Super-Extreme DUIs,” both of which depend on blood alcohol content or BAC and other factors.
If you get caught with a DUI in Nebraska, your license will be revoked for six months, and that’s just for starters. You will also have to pay a $500 fine and spend a week to 60 days in jail.
A first-time DUI conviction in Kansas can get you a prison term of 48 hours to six months. The judge can also opt to sentence you to one-year probation. As for fines, a first-time DUI convict in Kansas could be paying anywhere between $750 and $1,000, plus court costs and supervision fees. A 30-day driver’s license suspension is also mandatory for first-time DUIs.
Anyone who gets convicted of a DUI in Oklahoma for the first time normally has to spend 10 days to one year in prison, and that all depends on the judge. Fines of up to $1,000 are also par for the course. The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, to which the court reports all DUI convictions, disqualifies a first-time DUI convict from driving for 180 days.
Fines for a first-time DUI in Georgia could range from $300 to $1000, although the financial hit could become harder the moment they add the required surcharges. A conviction could also mean a 12-month license suspension and a minimum jail sentence of 10 days. You must also complete a 20-hour course called the DUI Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, for which you have to pay more than $350.
A first-time DUI conviction in Delaware is definitely not a walk in the park, as you could get a maximum jail time of six months. Depending on the conditions of the charges against you, you will also be facing $500 to $1500 in fines and penalties. Your license may also be suspended for 12 to 24 months. Three DUIs within a five-year period leads to a felony charge, which brings more severe consequences.
The distinction of having the strictest DUI law in the United States belongs to Utah. While all other states are implementing a BAC limit of .08 percent, Utah is now arresting drivers whose BAC exceeds .05 percent. Although the criminal penalties for a first-time DUI conviction are pretty much within the norm in most other states, the much lower BAC limit, which took effect on December 30, 2018, casts a much wider net. Authorities in the state will bring in drivers who wouldn’t typically be arrested in all other states.
Common sense dictates that you should never drink and drive in any of the states mentioned above. Scratch that; never drink and drive at all.
Michelle White currently works as the Marketing and Communications Specialist at Law Offices of Brian D. Sloan. Her experiences with DUI cases in the past have inspired her to spread awareness about DUI laws in the United States.