Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New York
Uploaded on: Jun 13, 2022
Duration: 2.5 Min

Video Description

Car accidents can be frightening, and many people react by leaving the scene before exchanging contact and insurance information. However, in New York, this can lead to a moving violation or even criminal charges. If you’re facing charges for leaving the scene, find a lawyer to represent you.

What should I do if I’m in a car accident?

If you’re involved in an accident with another car, the law requires you to exchange driver’s license and insurance information with the other driver. If the other car was parked and there is no other driver, you need to leave a note with your information. If anyone was injured in the accident, you need to report the accident to the police. However, don’t admit fault or even imply you were at fault; things you say at an accident scene can be used against you in court.

What are the penalties for leaving the scene without sharing information?

The penalties for leaving the scene without sharing information vary based on the severity of the accident. If there was only property damage, leaving the scene will result in 3 points on your driver’s license, a surcharge of $88 to $93 dollars, a fine of up to $250, and potentially 15 days in jail. As in any traffic offense, a conviction can also lead to an increase in your car insurance premiums.

If anyone was injured, the charge is much more serious. Leaving the scene when there are injuries is a criminal charge. On top of the normal penalties for leaving the scene, you’d face up to $5,000 in fines, up to a year in jail, and suspension of your license for a year. Plus, because it’s a criminal charge, conviction means a criminal record that will make it harder for you to find a job, housing, or credit. So, if you’re facing a charge for leaving the scene, get a lawyer, because the consequences can be very serious.

How do I beat charges for leaving the scene?

The best defense depends on the specifics of your case. For minor accidents, like backing into a parked car, we might be able to argue that you didn’t know you were in an accident at all. If the prosecutor’s case depends on something you said to the police, we might be able to get the statement thrown out if the police didn’t read you your Miranda rights. 

What should I do if I’m charged with leaving the scene?

If you’ve been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, contact Rosenblum Law today. Our traffic attorneys are experienced in dealing with leaving the scene charges, and we’ll be able to help find the best option for your case.

Why Choose Rosenblum Law?

A+ Rated by The Better Business Bureau
The NACDA voted us “Top 10” in criminal defense
100+ Years of combined legal experience
Get A Free Consultation Today