- Suing for a Slip and Fall Accident in a New Jersey Parking Lot
For more information click here: https://rosenblumlaw.com/personal-injury/nj/slip-fall/fall-in-parking-lot/
Why Choose Rosenblum Law?
Other Related videos
Sometimes things get out of hand. If you’ve been in a fight or any heated situation where things got physical, you might get charged with Simple Assault. Although Simple Assault is one of the least serious violent crimes in New Jersey, a conviction can still have real consequences for you. If you’ve been charged with Simple Assault, you should hire a lawyer to defend you. At Rosenblum Law, we have a lot of experience beating Simple Assault charges, and we’ll do everything we can to help you.
What is Simple Assault?
Simple Assault can come up whenever someone knowingly or recklessly physically hurts someone else or makes someone fear imminent injury. Courts interpret injury broadly; even minor pain can count as an injury. As you might imagine, a lot of things fit the definition of Simple Assault.
If you’re convicted of Simple Assault, you can be sentenced to up to six months in jail or up to a $1,000 fine. In addition, regardless of your sentence, you’ll have a criminal conviction on your record, which can make it more difficult to find housing or a job. Although it’s a disorderly persons offense, not a felony, you should take it seriously. Don’t panic, though; a good lawyer can usually get the charge dismissed or reduced to something that won’t show up on your record.
We can also help you enroll in a diversionary program that will get the charges dismissed in exchange for completing a program. The requirements for who can apply to these programs can be complicated, so it’s best to have a lawyer help you.
How to Beat a Simple Assault Case
The prosecutor has to prove to a judge or jury that you’re guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. We can often poke holes in the prosecutor’s case and make sure there’s a reasonable doubt. Prosecutors know this, so they’re usually willing to negotiate a charge down if you have a lawyer.
What should I do if I’ve been charged with Simple Assault?
If you or a loved one has been charged with Simple Assault, contact Rosenblum Law for a free consultation about your case. You can find our contact information on the screen or at the bottom of the page.
Shoplifting is a very common offense. But while it’s usually a minor crime, a conviction still comes with the possibility of fines and jail time, not to mention a criminal record. That’s why if you’re charged with shoplifting, you should find an attorney to represent you.
What is shoplifting?
New Jersey law considers several different activities shoplifting. Purposely taking merchandise without paying for it, hiding merchandise without paying for it, swapping price tags, moving unpaid merchandise into a container, and under-ringing merchandise at a self checkout are all included in the definition of shoplifting.
The penalty for shoplifting depends on the value of the merchandise. Under $200, it’s a disorderly persons offense with a maximum of a $1000 fine and 6 months in jail. Over $200, it’s a felony that can lead to $10,000 in fines and 18 months in prison. Penalties get even steeper if the merchandise was worth over $500. In addition to the fines and possible incarceration, anyone convicted of shoplifting will have a criminal record. A record makes it harder for you to find housing, jobs, and credit, which is why it’s important to hire a lawyer to fight the charge even if it’s minor.
How do I beat shoplifting charges?
Because most stores have security cameras, it’s usually hard to beat shoplifting charges outright. Depending on the circumstances, we might be able to prove it was an accident or that your case was mishandled by the police or prosecutor. But most of the time, your best option is to negotiate the charge down or enroll in a diversionary program. These negotiations can be tough and there’s limited space in diversionary programs, so you’ll do best if you have an experienced attorney to represent you.
What should I do if I’ve been charged with shoplifting?
If you’ve been charged with shoplifting, you’re at risk of a permanent criminal record even if it was a minor offense. Contact Rosenblum Law for a free consultation. You can find our contact info on the screen or further down on the page.